Lost Horizons announce special guests for London Scala show

Following excellent reviews for new album In Quiet Moments, and with current single ‘Halcyon’ selected as Shaun Keaveny’s Record of the Week on 6Music, Lost Horizons have announced news of their first set of guest vocalists for their one-off London Scala show on 19th October. The band will be joined by label-mates John Grant, Laura Groves and Jack & Lily Wolter from Penelope Isles, all of whom will sing their respective tracks from the LP, while Scott Matthews will perform the track “Grey Tower”, originally written with Tim Smith from Midlake. Many more guest vocalists will be announced over the coming months.

Additionally, Lost Horizons today share a video for the track “Blue Soul” which features guest vocalist Laura Groves. Of the track and video Groves says: I filmed the performance myself at home using the very basic tools I have – very much the same way as my music video for “Infinite Wisdom”. These restrictions were imposed by the lockdown we were under at the time, but were also reflective of the words that I wrote for ‘Blue Soul’; themes of solitude, inner worlds and landscapes, connection with nature and a very personal creative process that permeates and is often interchangeable with everyday life, and maintaining those connections on a planet that is endangered.”

Acclaim for In Quiet Moments:

“Second album from super-duo contains multitudes… With the knowing retro-etherealism of Every Beat That Passed (featuring Swedish vocalist Kavi Kwai) or Cordelia’s new age tides controlled by John Grant, In Quiet Moments opens out its own space to wander, a many-moods piece for complicated times.” MOJO – 4 stars ****

“The array of moods and a distinguished cast of guest singers on this album dazzles and delights.” The i – 4 stars ****

“Former Cocteau Twin Simon Raymonde’s search for a vocalist as distinctive as Liz Frazer continues on Lost Horizons’ second album. He and partner Richie Thomas strike gold with Swedish newcomer Kavi Kwai on the ethereal ‘Every Beat That Passed’ while Gemma Dunleavy comes close on the mysterious ‘Linger’, as does a sumptuously serene Ren Harvieu on ‘Unravelling In Slow Motion’.” Classic Pop – 4 stars ****

“Lost Horizons return with a 16-song set that expands their palette considerably, including jazzier ventures with Ren Harvieu and soul singer Ural Thomas. Lest anyone forget about Raymonde’s past life as a Cocteau Twin, reverb-soaked collaborations with Kavi Kwai and KookiLou ensure there’s plenty of the old shimmer and spangle to savour, too.” Uncut – 7/10

“Lost Horizons triumph on second album In Quiet Moments… There’s some textbook ethereal elegance but also much restless energy and joy.” PROG

“Melodic, heartfelt and healing… John Grant’s vocal on ‘Cordelia’ will lift you out of this world and into the cosmos… A warm blanket of an album in every way.” HiFi Choice – 5 stars *****

“Lost Horizons involves the former Cocteau Twin Simon Raymonde and multi-instrumentalist Richie Thomas constructing tracks out of loose jams. Collaborators include John Grant on the choral ‘Cordelia’ and the soul singer Ural Thomas on the jazzy title track.” Sunday Times

“Absolutely breathtaking… A masterpiece of concept, design and execution.” NARC – 5 Stars *****

“With experienced mood masters Raymonde and Thomas at the tiller In Quiet Moments is holistic audio balm to soothe, hug and give hope in these ‘unprecedented times’ and beyond.” Music OMH – 4 Stars ****

“Impressive and captivating… Penelope Isles shine with a statement piece of charming dream-pop while John Grant provides the records most impressive and emotive moment.” The Line Of Best Fit – 7/10

“An epic 16 track record of quite stunning beauty… A masterful sonic journey of discovery.” Contact Music – 5 Stars ***** 

Lost Horizons is the project of Cocteau Twins’ Simon Raymonde and Richie Thomas of Dif JuzThe band’s new album, In Quiet Moments, was released in February via Bella Union. 

Lost Horizons have previously shared videos for ‘I Woke Up With An Open Heart’ featuring The Hempolics, ‘Grey Tower’ featuring Tim Smith, ‘Cordelia’ featuring John Grant, ‘One For Regret’ featuring Porridge Radio, ‘Every Beat That Passed’ featuring Kavi Kwai, ‘In Quiet Moments’ featuring Ural Thomas, ‘Marie’ featuring Marissa Nadler, ‘Heart Of A Hummingbird’  featuring KookieLou,‘Halcyon’ featuring Penelope Isles and ‘This Is The Weather’ featuring Karen Peris from the LP.