Laura Veirs shares “Lightning Rod” video

Laura Veirs is set to release The Lookout, her tenth solo full-length album, on 13th April via Bella Union. After sharing the singles “Everybody Needs You” and “Watch Fire,” Veirs now presents the album’s final pre-release song, “Lightning Rod” and it’s accompanying video created by Basque artists Izar Etxeberria (illustrations) and Eñaut Uribesalgo (animation). Etxeberria explains the impetus for the video: “I wanted to express the sense of wonder about the majestic mystery of life that fuels both science and art. It represents the creative process of an artist born from the need to make sense of it and to communicate the beauty and sacredness of nature, it’s fragility. It’s a poetic attempt to question our modern cosmology and values.” Watch below…

Veirs has previously shared videos for “Everybody Needs You”, which can be viewed HERE, and “Watch Fire”, featuring Sufjan Stevens, which can be viewed HERE.

Veirs will be touring the US and Europe throughout the Spring, reaching the UK  in June. Full dates HERE.

Early acclaim for The Lookout:

The Lookout is by far the strongest and most sure–footed record of her career… A work of striking maturity, full of nuance, intelligence, and many welcome, unexpected turns.”

Uncut – 8/10 (Album of the Month)

“Like Sufjan Stevens’ Carrie & Lowell, The Lookout contemporises fairly traditional folk. Veirs has her own musical universe, however, and this album has been well worth the wait.”

MOJO – 4 Stars ****




  • 03 Oct 2021 Brighton at Komedia
  • 04 Oct 2021 Guildford at Boileroom
  • 05 Oct 2021 Portsmouth at Wedgewood Rooms
  • 06 Oct 2021 Bristol at Thekla
  • 07 Oct 2021 Exeter at Phoenix
  • 09 Oct 2021 Cambridge at Storey’s Field Centre
  • 10 Oct 2021 Birmingham at Hare & Hounds
  • 11 Oct 2021 Newcastle at Civic Theatre
  • 12 Oct 2021 Glasgow at Stereo
  • 13 Oct 2021 Edinburgh at Summerhall
See all the shows