Marissa Nadler shares new song ‘Katie I Know’

With her much-anticipated new LP Strangers due for release 20th May on Bella Union, Marissa Nadler has shared album track “Katie I Know”, which you can listen to via the link below…

 The song is a perfect representation of the expanded sound palate Nadler has concocted on the album, adorned with gorgeous beds of strings and synthesizer and Badalementi-esque chimes of guitar. Strangers has recently been named one of the most anticipated releases in May by Uncut and MOJO, and has received early praise from NPRPitchfork, and many more.


“Strangers is an album filled with such reverie – an album that seems to exist in some hinterland between dream, nightmare and reality.” – Uncut 8/10

“Nadler has moved forward with a delicate yet steel-spined album of intimate soliliquies posting her as having taken up the baton from Mazzy Star. If David Lynch were looking to soundtrack dreamlike disassociation, he need look no further.” – MOJO 4 Stars****

The richness of both the deep shadows and the bright bursts of light mirror Nadler’s floating vocals cutting through the melancholy soundscapes, eliciting the beauty that is present in darkness once one is comfortable dwelling there.” – Stereogum

If anybody is capable of capturing and exploring the various shades of black and making them all beautiful, it might just be singer-songwriter Marissa Nadler.” – Consequence of Sound

Marissa Nadler will also be embarking on her European tour very soon following the albums release, including the below UK & Ireland shows…

Tuesday 24th May – BRIGHTON – Prince Albert

Wednesday 25th May – LONDON – St John at Hackney

Thursday 26th May – MANCHESTER – Soup Kitchen

Friday 27th May – GLASGOW – Broadcast

Saturday 28th May – DUBLIN – Button Factory

Sunday 29th May – CORK – Cyprus Avenue

Tuesday 31st May – LEEDS – Brudenell Social Club

Wednesday 1st June – BRISTOL – Louisiana

For more than 12 years Marissa Nadler has perfected her own take on the exquisitely sculpted gothic American songform. On her seventh full-length, Strangers, she has shed any self-imposed restrictions her earlier albums adhered to, stepped through a looking glass, and created a truly monumental work.

In the two years since 2014’s elegiac, autobiographical “July”, Nadler has reconciled the heartbreak so often a catalyst for her songwriting. Turning her writing to more universal themes, Nadler dives deep into a surreal, apocalyptic dreamscape. Her lyrics touch upon the loneliness and despair of the characters that inhabit them. These muses are primal, fractured, disillusioned, delicate, and alone. They are the unified voice of this record, the titular “strangers.”

Once again partnered with July producer Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Black Mountain) Nadler has created an album equal in sonic quality to the apocalyptic lyrical tone that covers its 44 minutes. In places her voice and guitar play off subsonic synths, while elsewhere, a pulsing drumbeat launches the songs off into an intense, confrontational place.

Strangers will be released 20th May on Bella Union. Album artwork and tracklisting below…


Strangers tracklisting…

1. Drivers of the Dust

2. Katie I Know

3. Skyscraper

4. Hungry Is The Ghost

5. All the Colors of the Dark

6. Strangers

7. Janie in Love

8. Waking

9. Shadow Show Diane

10. Nothing Feels The Same

11. Dissolve