Marissa Nadler shares new video and UK live dates

With her much-anticipated new LP Strangers due for release 20th May on Bella Union, Marissa Nadler has unveiled a typically striking b/w video for ‘All the Colors of the Dark‘, one of the album’s many highlights. Of the video, which Marissa shot, directed and animated herself, she comments: With All the Colors of the Dark I wanted to marry my love for the moving image with the song in a compelling visual that pulsated with the same rhythm. I’ve been inspired by the beautiful phantasmagoric worlds created by Svankmejer and Francesca Woodman, The Brothers Quay, among others. In the video, everyday objects move on their own, representing a lingering presence in my life. In both the song and video that shadowing presence could be interpreted as a memory or as a true apparition, and I’ll leave it up to interpretation. Little by little, throughout the course of the song and video, the leaves and vines are pushed back into the drawers as time slowly creeps by. I rearrange the photos on the wall that have inexplicably moved, and among other things, shut the windows and blinds that keep opening by themselves. With each spin of the trees, seasons pass, and I pace around the house. With the death of the figure at the end of the video, that presence is vaporized.” Watch below…

In other news Marissa has announced a European tour to follow the album’s release, including the below UK & Ireland shows…

Tuesday 24th May – BRIGHTON – Prince Albert

Wednesday 25th May – LONDON – St John at Hackney

Thursday 26th May – MANCHESTER – Soup Kitchen

Friday 27th May – GLASGOW – Broadcast

Saturday 28th May – DUBLIN – Button Factory

Sunday 29th May – CORK – Cyprus Avenue

Tuesday 31st May – LEEDS – Brudenell Social Club

Wednesday 1st June – BRISTOL – Louisiana

For more than 12 years Marissa Nadler has perfected her own take on the exquisitely sculpted gothic American songform. On her seventh full-length, Strangers, she has shed any self-imposed restrictions her earlier albums adhered to, stepped through a looking glass, and created a truly monumental work.

In the two years since 2014’s elegiac, autobiographical “July”, Nadler has reconciled the heartbreak so often a catalyst for her songwriting. Turning her writing to more universal themes, Nadler dives deep into a surreal, apocalyptic dreamscape. Her lyrics touch upon the loneliness and despair of the characters that inhabit them. These muses are primal, fractured, disillusioned, delicate, and alone. They are the unified voice of this record, the titular “strangers.”

Once again partnered with July producer Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Black Mountain) Nadler has created an album equal in sonic quality to the apocalyptic lyrical tone that covers its 44 minutes. In places her voice and guitar play off subsonic synths, while elsewhere, a pulsing drumbeat launches the songs off into an intense, confrontational place.

Strangers will be released 20th May on Bella Union. Album artwork and tracklisting below…


Strangers tracklisting…

1. Drivers of the Dust

2. Katie I Know

3. Skyscraper

4. Hungry Is The Ghost

5. All the Colors of the Dark

6. Strangers

7. Janie in Love

8. Waking

9. Shadow Show Diane

10. Nothing Feels The Same

11. Dissolve