Marissa Nadler announces new LP ‘Strangers’ to be released 20th May 2016

For more than 12 years Marissa Nadler has perfected her own take on the exquisitely sculpted gothic American songform. On her seventh full-length, Strangers, released 20th May on Bella Union and available to preorder from iTunes, she has shed any self-imposed restrictions her earlier albums adhered to, stepped through a looking glass, and created a truly monumental work.

Today Nadler has shared “Janie in Love”, one of her most texturally rich songs to date and one that updates her signature sound with some of the most prominently featured drumming of her career. Her talent for powerfully juxtaposing the ominous and the beautiful is on full display. Listen below:

In the two years since 2014’s elegiac, autobiographical July, Nadler has reconciled the heartbreak so often a catalyst for her songwriting. Turning her writing to more universal themes, Nadler dives deep into a surreal, apocalyptic dreamscape. Her lyrics touch upon the loneliness and despair of the characters that inhabit them. These muses are primal, fractured, disillusioned, delicate, and alone. They are the unified voice of this record, the titular “strangers.”

Once again partnered with July producer Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Black Mountain) Nadler has created an album equal in sonic quality to the apocalyptic lyrical tone that covers its 44 minutes. In places her voice and guitar play off subsonic synths, while elsewhere, a pulsing drumbeat launches the songs off into an intense, confrontational place.

Strangers will be released 20th May on Bella Union. Album artwork and tracklisting below:


Strangers tracklisting:

1. Drivers of the Dust

2. Katie I Know

3. Skyscraper

4. Hungry Is The Ghost

5. All the Colours of the Dark

6. Strangers

7. Janie in Love

8. Waking

9. Shadow Show Diane

10. Nothing Feels The Same

11. Dissolve

Critical acclaim for July, Marissa Nadler’s previous album: 

These are big, wide, beautiful songs that wind like the night time roads they should be listened to on.

Sunday Times (Album of the Week)

Hushed and haunting, darkly sensual songcraft. Uncut – 8/10

A melancholic late-night album, but one that really sounds beautiful. MOJO – 4 Stars ****

A career high. NME – 8/10

Atmospheric and engulfing. Pitchfork – 8.1/10 

Rich and immersive… Music that edges tantalisingly close to greatness.”The Wire 

These are darkly romantic songs… Utterly enchanting. Record Collector – 4 Stars ****

‘Ever-beguiling… the album represents the pinnacle of Nadler’s ten-year career. The Sun – 4 Stars ****