M.WARD unveils new video for ‘Girl From Conejo Valley’

On Friday 4th March M.WARD will release his eight studio album – ‘MORE RAIN’ – via Bella Union, and we are very pleased to share with you the new Carlos Foster directed video for ‘Girl From Conejo Valley’.

Check it out below:

Having spent the last decade-and-a-half based in the perennially damp Portland, Oregon, the singer-songwriter and producer has learned how to shine through the soggy gloom by simply embracing its inevitability. With his new album More Rain, Ward has made a true gotta-stay-indoors, rainy-season record that looks upwards through the weather while reflecting on his past.

I think one of the biggest mysteries of America right now is this: How are we able to process unending bad news on Page One and then go about our lives the way the Style section portrays us?” says Ward. “There must be a place in our brains that allows us to take a bird’s-eye view of humanity, and I think music is good at helping people—myself included—go to that place.”

This album finds Ward picking up the tempo and volume a bit from his previous release, 2012’s A Wasteland Companion. Where that record introspectively looked in from the outside, More Rain finds Ward on the inside, gazing out. Begun four years ago and imagined initially as a DIY doo-wop album that would feature Ward experimenting with layering his own voice, it soon branched out in different directions, a move that he credits largely to his collaborators here who include R.E.M.’s Peter BuckNeko CaseK.D. LangThe Secret Sisters, and Joey Spampinato of NRBQ. The result is a collection of upbeat, sonically ambitious yet canonically familiar songs that both propel Ward’s reach and satisfy longtime fans.

Ward has released a string of acclaimed solo albums over the past several years, along with five LPs with Zooey Deschanel as She & Him and a 2009 collaborative album with My Morning Jacket’s Jim James and Bright Eyes’ Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis under the moniker Monsters of Folk. In addition to his celebrated work as a musician, Ward is an accomplished producer, handling those duties for such luminaries as Mavis Staples, Jenny Lewis, and Carlos Forster as well as his own musical projects.

More Rain will be released 4th March 2016 on Bella Union in the UK/Europe and Merge Records in the US. Album artwork, tracklisting below…

1. More Rain

2. Pirate Dial

3. Time Won’t Wait

4. Confession

5. I’m Listening (Child’s Theme)

6. Girl from Conejo Valley

7. Slow Driving Man

8. You’re So Good To Me

9. Temptation

10. Phenomenon

11. Little Baby

12. I’m Going Higher