Wild Nothing announce ‘Empty Estate’ EP

Fresh out of the desert for their Coachella debut, Empty Estate is the follow-up EP to the critically acclaimed “Nocturne”, which received several year-end accolades including album of the year in Under The Radar and iTunes.

The 7-song EP was recorded in Brooklyn at Gary’s Electric by Al Carlson in January and finds Jack Tatum exploring new sounds, new instruments and a new voice for Wild Nothing.  The EP features new paintings and illustrations from Eric Shaw. Look below to view the video to EP track ‘A Dancing Shell’.

01. The Body In Rainfall
02. Ocean Repeating (Big-eyed Girl)
03. On Guyot
04. Ride
05. Data World
06. A Dancing Shell
07. Hachiko

Catch Wild Nothing performing at Field Day in London following their appearance at Primavera two days earlier:

Saturday 25 May – LONDON – Field Day


Van Dyke Parks to play London’s Borderline on May 5th

Well, they say every cloud has a silver lining. Following the rescheduling of Grizzly Bear’s I’ll Be Your Mirror event from 5th May to 2nd November, at which VAN DYKE PARKS was one of the headline acts, our intrepid hero almost found himself without a UK show on the eve of the release of Songs Cycled, his first album of new material in over 20 years. However, the good news is Van Dyke WILL still be appearing in London on the 5th May as he’s just scheduled a special one-off performance at the Borderline in central London.

The last time Van Dyke Parks performed in London was at a sold-out Barbican so this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see one of the true musical legends in a such an intimate setting.

Sunday 5 May – LONDON – Borderline (£20) Tickets

Following the success of his classic album reissues last year Bella Union is thrilled to be releasing the new album from the truly legendary composer, musician, lyricist, producer and singer Van Dyke Parks. There has been one live album and one soundtrack record in the last 24 years, but Songs Cycled contains the American’s first new material since 1989, expanding even further Parks’ pioneering handle on Americana with the crystal clarity of a 21st century recording. All this in Park’s 70th year, which makes Songs Cycled extremely special indeed in so many ways.

Alongside new originals such as ‘Dreaming of Paris’, ‘Wall Street’ and ‘Missin’ Missippi’, new collaborations such as ‘Sassafras’ and ‘Money Is King’, there are new cover versions and re-recordings of older tracks, and guest vocals from Gaby Moreno and Inara George.

Songs Cycled is released 6th May on Bella Union.

The Flaming Lips and Horse Thief take on each others’ songs

A kind of Bella Union & Oklahoma love-in took place recently with OKC veterans The Flaming Lips and their younger label buddies Horse Thief deciding to cover each others songs. The Flaming Lips took on ‘I Am The Bear’ from the wonderful new Horse Thief EP Grow Deep, Grow Wild, while Horse Thief provide an excellent rendition of the Lips’ The Terror highlight ‘Try To Explain’…

You can listen to both of these below:

Listen to Try To Explain by Horse Thief
Listen to I Am The Bear by The Flaming Lips

Horse Thief’s Grow Deep, Grow Wild and The Flaming Lips’ The Terror were released on Monday 1st April on Bella Union (all ties in together nicely).

Buy Horse Thief here and The Flaming Lips here.

Watch: Veronica Falls – ‘Waiting For Something To Happen’

With their second album Waiting For Something To Happen London quartet VERONICA FALLS progressed remarkably from the ramshackle charm of their critically lauded eponymous debut to create something sleeker, more polished but no less poignant and affecting, packing an emotional punch even as the choruses and hooks were more infectious and addictive.

Now, following a well-received US tour, the band are getting ready to release their latest single, which is also the title track of their LP, and it comes accompanied by a beautiful black and white video by Paul Kelly, summoning to mind Andy Warhol’s poetic screen tests from the 60’s as the camera lingers over the four members of the band – Roxanne Clifford, Patrick Doyle, James Hoare and Marion Herbain. The single also comes with a brand new B-Side, “Perpetual Motion”, which was recorded while the band were recently in New York…

Veronica Falls will also be heading out on live dates in the UK and Europe in April and May, and, later in the summer, will also be playing a string of festival dates, at the likes of Primavera, Hop Farm, Latitude and Green Man. Fall in love with them now…

UK Dates:

Wednesday 17th April – Kazimer, LIVERPOOL
Thursday 18th April – Whealans, DUBLIN
Friday 19th April – Voodoo, DUBLIN
Saturday 20th April – Deaf Institute, MANCHESTER
Tuesday 23th April – Islington Assembly Hall, LONDON
Saturday 6th July – Hop Farm, KENT
Saturday 20th July – Latitude Festival, SOUHTWOLD


24 – La Peniche, Lille, France
25  – Nouveau Casino, Paris
26 – Noumatrouff, Mulhouse, France
27 – Le Sonic, Lyon, France
28 – Bad Bonn, Dudingen
30 – Mascotte, Zurich

2 – Arena, Vienna, Austria
3 – Feierwerk, Munich, Germany
4 – Merlin, Stuttgart, Germany
5 – Beatpol, Dresden, Germany
6 – Festsaal Kreuzberg, Berlin, Germany
7 – Die Pumpe, Kiel, Germany
8  – Molotow, Hamburg, Germany
9 – Debaser, Malmo, Sweden
10 – Pop Revo Festival, Aarhus, Denmark
11 – Kuudes Linja, Helsinki
14 – AB Box, Brussels, Belgium
15 – Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
22 – Primavera Opening Party, Barcelona

Waiting For Something To Happen will be released on 7″ vinyl on Monday 27th May