Bella Union x Rough Trade :: 15th Anniversary compilation

This year marks the 15th anniversary of the birth of Bella Union Records, and to celebrate we have teamed up with the good folk at Rough Trade Shops to compile 145 minutes and 52 seconds minutes of music, old and new, that reflects fondly on the beginnings of the label and looks excitedly towards to the prospects of the future. As well as old favourites like Midlake, Lift To Experience and Dirty Three we have 6 new and unreleased tracks from Jonathan Wilson, The Walkmen, The Low Anthem, Lanterns On The Lake, Zun Zun Egui and Father John Misty.

Rough Trade Shops Bella Union 15 will be available on very special edition CD at the Rough Trade Stall at this years End Of The Road Festival, and widely available from all good retailers on Monday 17th September.

This retrospective was compiled by Bella Union founder Simon Raymonde.

“Looking back, as one must do when compiling any form of retrospective, is not something I had planned until I was to be 65, still a few good years away yet. So maybe that gives you a hint that I didn’t exactly salivate at the idea of picking a small number of tracks from the last 15 years as some kind of complete representation of the label’s output. For every artist andtrack I pick, there will be several more I cannot, and that is an uncomfortable feeling. Certainly before the time I took control of the label properly, around 2001, some of the artists signed were not wholly my choice and therefore not wholly my taste, so I decided that the only way for me to imbue this collection with the love and care it deserves was to make it as much of a personal one as I could, and most importantly to make it musically edifying to listen to. I hope I have managed to achieve this. There are so many notable absentees, bands that made great records for us, like Art of Fighting, The Autumns, Mazarin, Fionn Regan, Jetscreamer, Dustin O’Halloran, etc. who all would have a legitimate claim to be included on such a compilation but frankly, this is not a full retrospective release, it is basically a little over 2 hours of music and as such can only touch on the diversity of the roster, the back catalogue and thereby give a small flavour of what we do. So, once I had decided thatpersonal reflection was the only way to make this set feel authentic, the track-listing flowed pretty easily and with the exclusive tracks several artists were able to record especially for this, I feel this is a lot more than just a dip into a catalogue. It looks to the future, which is where I tend to live.”

Here’s the track listing and artwork below…

Various – Rough Trade Shops Bella Union 15
CD One

1.  M Ward – Primitive Girl
2.  Veronica Falls – Stephen
3.  Wild Nothing – Shadow
4.  Beach House – Lover Of Mine
5.  Andrew Bird – Effigy
6.  Laura Veirs – July Flame
7.  Fleet Foxes – Montezuma
8.  The Acorn – Crooked Legs
9.  John Grant – TC & Honeybear
10. Stephanie Dosen – Vinalhaven Harbor
11. Explosions In The Sky – Your Hand in Mine
12. Hannah Cohen – Don’t Say
13. Poor Moon – Holiday
14. Treefight For Sunlight – Time Stretcher
15. Vetiver – More Of This
16. Lawrence Arabia – I’ve Smoked Too Much
17. Cashier no. 9 – Oh Pity
18. Marques Toliver – Magic Look

CD Two

1.   Van Dyke Parks – Be Careful
2.   Mountain Man  – Buffalo
3.   Peter Broderick – Colin
4.   Midlake – The Jungler
5.   I Break Horses – Hearts (RAR mix)
6.   Dirty Three – Everything’s Fucked
7.   My Latest Novel – Wrongfully, I Rested
8.   The Czars – Goodbye
9.   Our Broken Garden – The Departure
10. Lift To Experience – To Guard & To Guide You

Exclusive Bonus Tracks

11. The Walkmen – The House You Made*
12. The Low Anthem – Down There By The Train*
13. Jonathan Wilson – Journey from Eden*
14. Zun Zun Egui – Battlefield*
15. Lanterns On The Lake – Below It*
16. Father John Misty feat. Phosphorescent – I Would Love You*

Listen to new track ‘Birds’ by Poor Moon

Just ahead of the release of their beguiling self-titled debut later this month, which has just been the subject of excellent reviews in MOJO and Uncut, Poor Moon are offering one of the album’s many beautiful tracks Birds as a free download.

Poor Moon will be visiting these shores for their first ever UK live performances at the end of this month…

Friday 31 August – DORSET – End Of The Road festival (Bella Union 15th Anniversary Celebrations)
Saturday 1 September – MANCHESTER – Ruby Lounge (£7.50)
Monday 3 September – LONDON – The Lexington (£8.50)

Poor Moon by Poor Moon is released 27th August on Bella Union records.

Wild Nothing offer free download of ‘Paradise’

Wild Nothing today unveil a lunar tracking website and offer a free download of the new single ‘Paradise‘. With Wild Nothing’s sophomore release quickly approaching, the site provides a segue into the world of the band’s new album Nocturne.

The site is a working lunar calendar which uses geo-tracking to display accurate moon phases, luminosity, rises and moonsets all over the world. More than a calendar, the site includes tour dates, mixes and today is hosting a free download of the new single ‘Paradise’…

Click below to check out the website and download the track:

For Jack Tatum, the lunar phases speak to the months he spent writing the album:

“There was a great deal of restlessness that went into the creation of this album. The moon cycle has come to represent this for me; a slowly changing symbol of where these songs feel most at home, a sleepless state of mind.”

Headline shows for later this year are currently being scheduled though ahead of these Wild Nothing will be joining labelmates The Walkmen as special guest in Dublin, Manchester and London.

Monday 29 October – DUBLIN – Vicar Street (supporting THE WALKMEN)
Tuesday 30 October – MANCHESTER – Ritz (supporting THE WALKMEN)
Thursday 1 November – LONDON – Forum (supporting THE WALKMEN)

Four weeks today until End of the Road

We are very excited, for not only is it Friday, it’s also four weeks to the day until End of the Road Festival. Specifically, four weeks to the day until the Bella Union day takeover, in celebration of our 15th Anniversary.

Our day will feature the following bands and artists:

Beach House, Dirty Three, Roy Harper, Jonathan Wilson, Poor Moon, Marques Toliver, Midlake, The Low Anthem, John Grant, Van Dyke Parks, Peter Broderick, The Acorn, Mountain Man, Veronica Falls, I Break Horses, Lanterns on the Lake, Still Corners, Cashier No.9, Lawrence Arabia, Horse Thief, Zun Zun Egui, Concrete Knives, Peggy Sue, My Sad Captains, Our Broken Garden, Alessi’s Ark, Hannah Cohen and Leif Vollebekk.

Some of them will sign stuff in the Rough Trade tent during the day.

There are just a few tickets left which you can purchase direct from End of the Road here.

Here’s an idea of some of the pophits you can experience first hand:

A very small selection.

So yeah, probably gonna be the best day ever. Hope you can share it with us! Get a ticket!

The Low Anthem announce Bush Hall show

Having last played London in November 2011 at a near capacity Roundhouse, THE LOW ANTHEM have just announced a special intimate performance at Bush Hall as a warm-up for their appearance at the End Of The Road festival, as part of Bella Union’s 15th Anniversary Celebrations.

Upcoming live info below:

Wednesday 29 August – LONDON – Bush Hall (Tickets £15)

Friday 31 August – DORSET – End Of The Road festival (Bella Union 15th Anniversary Celebrations Day)