Landshapes – Maya Postepski Remix of ‘In Limbo’ + dates with Phosphorescent

On Monday 17th June Landshapes will release their debut album – Rambutan – on Bella Union

You may remember ‘In Limbo’, the first single from the album, from its striking video, which followed the life of a Cholita wrestler in Bolivia.

We are now very happy to share with you Maya Postepski’s (AUSTRA // TRUST) equally strong remix of ‘In Limbo’, a wonderful (and quite bonkers) 9–minute long reworking that feels like an adventure; taking the song into outer space and back…

Available for free download below:

And if you haven’t yet checked out the video for ‘In Limbo’ you should, and can:

You can buy ‘In Limbo’ on iTunes HERE & pre-order ‘Rambutan’ HERE

Landshapes will head out on tour with Phosphorescent next week and will be returning to London in June to celebrate the release of Rambutan with a special album launch show at Corsica Studios on Wednesday 19th June.

Friday 10th The Netherlands – Amsterdam, Bitterzoet
Saturday 11th Germany, Berlin – Kantine am Berghain
Sunday 12th Germany – Koln, Blue Shell
Tuesday 14th France – Paris, l’espace B
Wednesday 15th – London, Village Underground
Wednesday 19th June – London, Corsica Studios [tickets]

Rambutan is released on Bella Union on Monday 17th June.

Wild Nothing announce ‘Empty Estate’ EP

Fresh out of the desert for their Coachella debut, Empty Estate is the follow-up EP to the critically acclaimed “Nocturne”, which received several year-end accolades including album of the year in Under The Radar and iTunes.

The 7-song EP was recorded in Brooklyn at Gary’s Electric by Al Carlson in January and finds Jack Tatum exploring new sounds, new instruments and a new voice for Wild Nothing.  The EP features new paintings and illustrations from Eric Shaw. Look below to view the video to EP track ‘A Dancing Shell’.

01. The Body In Rainfall
02. Ocean Repeating (Big-eyed Girl)
03. On Guyot
04. Ride
05. Data World
06. A Dancing Shell
07. Hachiko

Catch Wild Nothing performing at Field Day in London following their appearance at Primavera two days earlier:

Saturday 25 May – LONDON – Field Day


Van Dyke Parks to play London’s Borderline on May 5th

Well, they say every cloud has a silver lining. Following the rescheduling of Grizzly Bear’s I’ll Be Your Mirror event from 5th May to 2nd November, at which VAN DYKE PARKS was one of the headline acts, our intrepid hero almost found himself without a UK show on the eve of the release of Songs Cycled, his first album of new material in over 20 years. However, the good news is Van Dyke WILL still be appearing in London on the 5th May as he’s just scheduled a special one-off performance at the Borderline in central London.

The last time Van Dyke Parks performed in London was at a sold-out Barbican so this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see one of the true musical legends in a such an intimate setting.

Sunday 5 May – LONDON – Borderline (£20) Tickets

Following the success of his classic album reissues last year Bella Union is thrilled to be releasing the new album from the truly legendary composer, musician, lyricist, producer and singer Van Dyke Parks. There has been one live album and one soundtrack record in the last 24 years, but Songs Cycled contains the American’s first new material since 1989, expanding even further Parks’ pioneering handle on Americana with the crystal clarity of a 21st century recording. All this in Park’s 70th year, which makes Songs Cycled extremely special indeed in so many ways.

Alongside new originals such as ‘Dreaming of Paris’, ‘Wall Street’ and ‘Missin’ Missippi’, new collaborations such as ‘Sassafras’ and ‘Money Is King’, there are new cover versions and re-recordings of older tracks, and guest vocals from Gaby Moreno and Inara George.

Songs Cycled is released 6th May on Bella Union.

The Flaming Lips and Horse Thief take on each others’ songs

A kind of Bella Union & Oklahoma love-in took place recently with OKC veterans The Flaming Lips and their younger label buddies Horse Thief deciding to cover each others songs. The Flaming Lips took on ‘I Am The Bear’ from the wonderful new Horse Thief EP Grow Deep, Grow Wild, while Horse Thief provide an excellent rendition of the Lips’ The Terror highlight ‘Try To Explain’…

You can listen to both of these below:

Listen to Try To Explain by Horse Thief
Listen to I Am The Bear by The Flaming Lips

Horse Thief’s Grow Deep, Grow Wild and The Flaming Lips’ The Terror were released on Monday 1st April on Bella Union (all ties in together nicely).

Buy Horse Thief here and The Flaming Lips here.