Marques Toliver announces St Pancras Old Church headline show in May…

With his much-antipated debut Land Of CanAan due for release 13th May on Bella Union Records, Marques Toliver has just announced a London headline show at St Pancras Old Church the week after release. Ahead of this date Marque will be joining label-mates BEACH HOUSE as special guest at their two sold-out Shepherd’s Bush Empire shows at the end of this month. Marques will perform solo for the Beach House supports and with his full band at St Pancras Old Church.

Monday 25 March – LONDON – Shepherd’s Bush Empire [with Beach House] **(SOLD-OUT!)**
Tuesday 26 March – LONDON – Shepherd’s Bush Empire  [with Beach House] **(SOLD-OUT!)**

Wednesday 22 May – LONDON – St Pancras Old Church (£9)  

Land Of CanAan is released 13th May on Bella Union.

John Grant “Pale Green Ghosts” out TODAY!

The excellent new album from John Grant, Pale Green Ghosts, is out Monday NOW (!!!) on Bella Union.

You can order the record now from the Bella Union store,
and also Amazon and iTunes.

Catch him live:

12 Mar 2013 / London, Rough Trade
13 Mar 2013 / London, Heaven
16 Mar 2013 / Reykjavik, Silfuberg Harpa
05 Apr 2013 / Rotterdam, Grand Theatre
07 Apr 2013 / Cologne, Bergerhaus Stollewerk
08 Apr 2013 / Hamburg, Mojo Club
09 Apr 2013 / Berlin, Babylon
11 Apr 2013 / Milan, Teatro Parenti
12 Apr 2013 / Rome, Parco della Musica
13 Apr 2013 / Bologna, Teatro Antoniano
14 Apr 2013 / Bologna, Teatro Antoniano
17 Apr 2013 / Paris, Divan Du Monde
18 Apr 2013 / Brussels, Botanique
19 Apr 2013 / Amsterdam, Paradiso
02 May 2013 /  Belfast, Marquee
03 May 2013 / Dublin, Vicar Street
04 May 2013 / Cork, Cyprus Avenue
05 May 2013 / Kilkenny, Watergate Theater
07 May 2013 / Bath, Komedia
08 May 2013 / Oxford, Academy 2
09 May 2013 / Birmingham, The Institute
11 May 2013  / Leeds, Metropolitan University
12 May 2013 / Edinburgh, Queens Hall
14 May 2013 / Manchester, The Ritz
15 May 2013 / London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
16 May 2013 / Brighton, St Georges
18 May 2013 / Cambridge, Junction
13 Jun 2013 / Bergen, Bergen Festival

Alessi’s Ark :: UK Tour in April / May + listen to “Tin Smithing”

Alessi’s Ark- The Still Life
15th April on Bella Union

New tour dates:

Tuesday 23 April – LONDON – Purcell Rooms (£12)
Wednesday 24 April – NOTTINGHAM –  Bodega (£8)
Thursday 25 April – MANCHESTER – The Castle (£7)
Friday 26 April – YORK – The Basement  (£8)
Sunday 28 April – NEWCASTLE –  The Think Tank (£6)
Monday 29 April – LEEDS –  Brudenell (£7)
Tuesday 30 April – BRISTOL –  Louisiana (£8)
Wednesday 1 May – BIRMINGHAM – Hare & Hounds (£8)
Thursday 2 May – LIVERPOOL –  Leaf Café @ Liverpool Sound City

Listen to new track “Tin Smithing”, from the album, below:

Travel, adventure and personal revelation mark the new album by singer/songwriter Alessi Laurent–Marke of Alessi’s Ark. The Still Life is a work both lucid and heart-breakingly lovely, a sonic landscape that roams a wide range of emotions, with (as the songwriter explains), “Nature and love, as common threads”.

“I wanted to create a musical landscape that varied in sound,” Laurent-Marke says, “but an overriding feeling of ‘stillness’ remained throughout the album. I also wanted to step back from playing acoustic guitar and immerse the songs in very different sound settings from previous recordings.

Aside from two tracks recorded with Brit producer Nic Nell in London, Laurent-Marke travelled to America to record most of the new album, in Athens, Georgia at the studio of producer Andy LeMaster, who has worked with everyone from Bright Eyes to Drive-By Truckers. “I had heard brilliant things about Andy as a person,” says Laurent–Marke, “and I felt extremely fortunate to spend time together and work so closely on this album. He brought some very gifted musicians on board and I was moved by their warmth in Athens.”

That warmth is all over The Still Life: in the shimmering production, in the players’ performances and in the slow, sweet sway that underlies all the album tracks. “The phrase ‘the still life’ has always resonated with me,” says Laurent-Marke of the album’s title. “In my mind ‘The Still Life’ is what we’re all aiming for, the chapter in our lives that we find peace and understanding, within us and in our surroundings.”

Alessi recently unveiled a charming video for album track ‘The Rain’ which utilises public archive footage celebrating the use of water in other cultures and can be viewed here.

The Still Life 15th April on Bella Union records.